Brooklyn’s legendary hardcore punk outfit YUPPICIDE has made the title track from its upcoming EP, “American Oblivion”, available for streaming on Bandcamp (see below). The six-track effort is due out September 4 via Dead City Records.

Commented vocalist Jesse KFW Jones: “‘American Oblivion’ was a collaboration between guitarist Steve Karp and I, dealing with how post-9/11 paranoia has become institutionalized in people’s lives, and how our civil liberties are being continually striped away. The result is that America is quickly becoming a country more focused on fear than on freedom.”

Energized both by the warm reception of the band’s commemorative 2010 double CD, “’88-’98 Anthology”, and the permanent addition of Jay “Gringo Starr” Rogan on drums, “American Oblivion” EP marks the firstYUPPICIDE studio effort in 14 years. The long-awaited release will be available as a limited-edition CD and 12″ vinyl with color booklet including lyrics, rare photos, art and more, and digitally through most online retailers.

“American Oblivion” was recorded by New York hardcore fixture Glen Lorieo at Manhattan’s Night Owl Studios. The result is a raw blast of everything YUPPICIDE is best known for: speed, intensity, drive, sincerity and a dogged determination to carving its own path through the punk/hardcore world.

“American Oblivion” track listing:

01. Dead Inside
02. Too Late
03. There’s a Line
04. American Oblivion
05. Flies On…
06. Not With You

YUPPICIDE, a mainstay in New York’s revitalized hardcore scene during the 1990s, is one of the preeminent bands to rise from the era. The band went on to unleash three full-length studio records, with the last, “Dead Man Walking”, arriving in 1995. Once a staple of the New York hardcore scene, YUPPICIDE is now considered a legend and an influence to countless bands worldwide.

Every other week we send out our email newsletter with the latest music, clothing & lifestyle updates. Why don't you sign up, too, and never miss another article!